Riders in Hawaii have legal options if they suffer injuries in a collision with another person or a careless driver. If another person’s carelessness, recklessness, or other negligence led to the accident, a motorcycle rider or passenger harmed in Hawaii may be entitled to obtain a sizable settlement. Here is more on Hawaii motorcycle laws.
Motorcycle license requirements
In Hawaii, obtaining a motorbike driving license requires a lengthy process regardless of age. Prospective bikers must go through several processes to provide them with the education and experience necessary to navigate the road safely. The time frame for getting a motorbike license is as follows:
- Drivers must pass a general knowledge test to demonstrate their grasp of the rules of the road before being issued a permit. Drivers are issued an instruction permit for a year after they satisfy the conditions.
- The Hawaii Department of Transportation mandates an additional course for drivers under the age of 18. Only those motorists who have already accrued 90 days of learner’s permit practice are eligible to enroll in this course.
- Instruction Permit – After receiving a lesson permit, a driver is authorized to start their riding instruction.
- Finally, a motorcycle rider must pass a performance test to receive a license. They must prove maneuvering prowess and exhibit fundamental knowledge and abilities during the testing (in addition to having their motorcycle tested and cleared for safety).
Laws governing the use of motorcycle helmets
According to the State of Hawaii Motorcycle laws, riders under 18 must use a helmet approved by the Department of Transportation. The requirements may vary depending on the age of the driver or passenger, similar to many state laws controlling traffic safety. But generally, under-18-year-old riders and motorcyclists must always wear helmets fastened with a chin strap Worldnewsite.
Hawaii motorcycle insurance requirements
All motorcycles operating in Hawaii are required to carry liability insurance, and a $100 minimum fine is issued to anyone found driving without proof of insurance. In many cases, taking a motorcycle safety course qualifies drivers for a discount on their insurance rates news247 com.
Among the minimum insurance requirements for motorcycles are the following:
- Per-person bodily injury coverage of $20,000
- In cases of numerous injuries, $40,000 per person coverage
- Property damage coverage of $10,000 per incident
Insurance providers must also allow riders to purchase extra coverage, such as higher liability limits, income disability insurance, and medical payment coverage for injury-related costs.
Motorcycle accidents in Hawaii
Expenses for medical care, property damage, and lost pay can be high if you have suffered in a motorcycle accident. Contact a skilled Hawaii motorcycle accident lawyer if you have questions about your legal options following a motorcycle accident. You should not be left to bear the repercussions of someone else’s negligence if it resulted in your injury.
Is lane splitting legal in Hawaii?
Some motorcyclists use lane splitting to move through traffic more quickly. Lane splitting is the act of traveling between lanes. Although lane splitting is common among motorcycle riders in Hawaii, it is illegal.